Open Board Meeting (April 2020)

COVID (Grimmie)

Stress

Quarantine due to the virus has taken its toll on all of us, no one has been excluded from its effects. Isolation, businesses, entertainment and many other services that are a part of our daily routines have been closed. While this isn’t new news to any one of us, we wanted to create this meeting as a social emotional check in. Cause Evolved is family :blush:

I am currently on day 26+ of quarentine. Colorado has closed most businesses for most of that time. Some of you may know that I am a teacher, and I teach at- risk, high needs children in an urban school. My job is already tough enough, and its extremely hard being away from my kiddos. But I share this because due to my job, I have extensive trauma informed care practices and training. Quarantine and social isolation can trigger trauma and for some, create new trauma. PLEASE feel free to reach out to me at any time if you need someone to be there for you or to just listen, or to just lurk in Discord with you. Even something as little as having someone “there” with you in Discord can make the biggest of differences in your social/emotional health.

If you don’t want someone from Evolved to talk to OR its more serious please dont hesitate to reach out to 1-800-273-8255 the National Suicide Hotline. They have trained professionals to help, even if your just feeling down. You can also chat online https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

#health-and-wellness

On a brighter note! Research does tell us that excersize does help! Yes, that’s the last thing we want to hear when depressed and stressed BUT it really does help because it releases endorphins and the much needed serotonin to make your brain feel happy. Once my gym closed, I was really bad at getting my workouts in. I am still bad because I was focused and stressed about gettting a new job (which i did).